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JCJC Standards

B The Use of Secure Detention Under the Juvenile Act
B Hearings and Administrative Reviews for Children Held in Secure Detention
B Use of Masters

§ 5-1 The Purpose and Place of Secure
Juvenile Detention in Pennsylvania

The Juvenile Act authorizes the secure pre- and post-adjudication detention of juveniles for
brief periods, under narrowly defined circumstances, and for strictly limited purposes. Secure
detention in Pennsylvania delinquency cases is further restricted by Juvenile Court Judges’
Commission standards developed to guide detention usage and decision-making throughout
the Commonwealth.! Juvenile court judges are responsible for ensuring that the use of
detention in their jurisdictions is kept within the limits prescribed by the law and applicable
standards, that it is reserved for cases in which it is not only permissible but necessary and
appropriate, and that it actually serves its intended purposes. Fulfilling this responsibility calls
for the exercise of each of the three basic kinds
of authority—bench authority, administrative

In general, juveniles taken authority, and community authority—entrusted to
¢4

into custody must be released juvenile court judges. Whether they are actually
unless they cannot be presiding over detention hearings in individual

cases or overseeing the detention intake process
as administrators of their courts, juvenile court
judges are in a position to assure that detain-or-
release decision-making is fair, consistent, based on pertinent information, structured by
appropriately drawn guidelines, and adequately documented. And as community leaders,
judges can take an active role in promoting solutions to the problems associated with overuse
of detention, including expansion of detention alternatives as well as screening and services
for juveniles who are currently being detained.

released.

Before examining specific criteria for detention admissions, it is worth noting that
Pennsylvania law establishes a general rule that juveniles taken into custody must be released
unless they cannot be released. This rule can be inferred broadly from the general purpose
clause? of the Juvenile Act—to “preserve the unity of the family whenever possible,”
“separating the child from parents only when necessary for his welfare, safety or health or in
the interests of public safety”—and from the narrower language of the detention provisions
themselves,® which are framed as release mandates qualified by limited exceptions (“A child
taken into custody shall not be detained...unless....””; “A person taking a child into custody,
with all reasonable speed and without first taking the child elsewhere, shall...release the child
to his parents...unless...”; “If a child is brought before the court or delivered to a detention or
shelter care facility designated by the court, the intake or other authorized officer of the court
shall immediately make an investigation and release the child unless...”). When detention is
necessary, the Juvenile Act and the Rules of Juvenile Court Procedure for Delinquency
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Matters clearly require that it be as brief as possible, setting up a kind of emergency
timetable—a detention hearing within 72 hours, petition filing within 24 hours of the detention
hearing, an adjudication hearing or a mandatory release within 10 days—to ensure that end.

Despite these statutory restrictions—as well as a state detention funding scheme (more fully
described at § 3-2, above ) that is deliberately structured to discourage unnecessary and
inappropriate detention usage—overcrowding in juvenile detention facilities has been a
historic problem in some parts of Pennsylvania, often leading to unhealthy and dangerous
conditions. (In the year 2004, for example, at least 4 of the state’s 23 juvenile detention
facilities had average daily populations that exceeded their licensed capacities.)* Litigation
arising from these conditions led to the development of more specific, extra-statutory
standards to guide decision-making on admissions to detention facilities. Originally embodied
in a statewide consent decree that resolved the case of Coleman v. Stanziani in 1986, they
eventually became the basis for the JCJC Standards Governing the Use of Secure Detention
Under the Juvenile Act.

Although the JCJC detention standards do restrict eligibility for detention, as will be seen in
the sections that follow, their real thrust is not so much to discourage detention in individual
cases as to discourage its routine, thoughtless, unnecessary use. What the standards require
above all else is that the thought processes leading up to the detention decision—the factors
weighed, the consideration of alternatives, the grounds upon which an order to detain is
ultimately based—be adequately documented.

While the JCJC detention standards have now outlived the consent decree on which they
were based, compliance with them is mandatory if the county is to continue participating in
the JCJC’s grant-in-aid program.

§ 5-2 Pre-Hearing Detention in General

Pennsylvania law’ provides that—except for very brief periods of police detention for
purposes of investigation, processing, transfer, or release—no juvenile may be securely
detained prior to an adjudication of delinquency unless one of the following conditions applies:

B Detention required to protect persons/
property. A juvenile in custody may be
detained pending a hearing on a delinquency
petition if such detention “is required to
protect the person or property of others
....” However, JCJC detention standards
require that such preventive detention be
restricted to juveniles charged with certain enumerated offenses or those with certain
offense histories.® (See §5-6, “Detention to Protect the Community.”)

Pennsylvania law and
JCJC detention standards
permit secure detention
only in narrowly defined
circumstances.

B Detention required to protect the juvenile. Detention may also be permitted if
“required to protect the person or property...of the child.” Such detention is
permissible under JCJC standards only at the written request of the juvenile or his
attorney.’
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B Detention required to ensure attendance at hearing. The law authorizes detention
when it is “required...because the child may abscond or be removed from the
jurisdiction of the court or because he has no parent, guardian, or custodian or other
person able to provide supervision and care for him and return him to the court when
required....” In general, if detention is asserted to be necessary to assure attendance
at a subsequent hearing, JCJC detention standards require a showing of actual past
instances of absconding or failing to appear at hearings on the juvenile’s part.'

(See §5-7, “Detention to Ensure Attendance at Hearings.”) However, the standards
make it clear that, if a juvenile cannot be released solely because there is no parent or
other responsible adult to ensure his appearance at a subsequent hearing, then shelter
care may be authorized, but not secure detention.!! (See §5-5, “Alternatives to Secure
Detention.”)

B Other court-ordered detention. A juvenile may also be detained if “an order for his
detention...has been made by the court....” While this language holds out the
possibility that pre-hearing detention may be permissible even when it is not necessary
to safeguard the community or the juvenile or ensure the juvenile’s appearance at
subsequent hearings, JCJC detention standards indicate that such detention will be
justified only by “extraordinary and exceptional circumstances.”'? (See § 5-8,
“Extraordinary and Exceptional Circumstances Justifying Detention.”)

In all of these situations, detention is not allowed unless there has been a formal judicial
finding of probable cause or, in the case of a preliminary detention admission by a juvenile
probation officer, a determination that there is reasonable basis for believing that the juvenile
committed the acts alleged and is within the juvenile court’s jurisdiction.

More importantly, in all of these situations, juveniles should only be considered eligible for
secure detention. The detention standards provide that “in every situation in which secure
detention is to be considered, forms of control short of secure detention which could
substantially reduce the risk of flight or danger to the child or the community shall be given
preference.”’

§ 5-3 Detention Intake and Informal Hearings

When a juvenile in custody is brought before juvenile court or detention intake, the Juvenile
Act provides that “the intake or other authorized officer of the court shall immediately make
an investigation and release the child unless it appears that his detention or shelter care is
warranted or required” under the law governing the pre-hearing detention of children.' If
the intake officer makes a preliminary decision to place the juvenile in detention or shelter
care, an informal detention hearing must be held before a judge or a master within 72 hours
of admission.” (Under the Crime Victims Act, the victim of the alleged delinquent act is
entitled to know whether the juvenile was detained or released following arrest and whether a
petition alleging delinquency has been filed.)'

Notice of the detention hearing, including its date, time, place and purpose, must be provided
to the juvenile and the juvenile’s parents/guardians and attorney, although in view of the tight
timelines the notice may be oral."” If the juvenile’s parent, guardian or other custodian is not
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notified and does not appear or waive appearance at the hearing, and thereafter files an
affidavit swearing to these facts, the matter must be reheard within 72 hours of the filing of
the affidavit.'® The court may also grant a rehearing at the request of any party, or on its
own motion. Generally, unless the case is assigned to a master, the rehearing must be heard
by the judge who presided over the original detention hearing or adopted the findings of the
master who presided.

The juvenile must be present at the detention hearing.!” At the start of the hearing, the judge
or master must (1) provide a copy of the written allegation to the juvenile and the juvenile’s
guardian, if present, and (2) inform them of the right to remain silent as to the delinquency
allegations and the right to counsel (including appointed counsel if the family is indigent).>
Although the proceeding is designated an “informal hearing,” to be held on short notice and
focused on the narrow issue of the need for

detention, the parties may apply for subpoenas to

compel the attendance of witness or the Detaining a juvenile calls for
production of papers.?! They may also request a documented judgment that
that the hearing be recorded, in which case it detention is both authorized

must be recorded “by appropriate means”; by law and necessary in fact.

otherwise, minutes of the hearing must be kept.?

Evidentiary standards in detention hearings are

similar to those applicable in disposition hearings: any evidence that is “helpful in determining
the questions presented” may be admitted and relied upon “to the extent of its probative
value.”® This includes written reports, although opposing parties must be afforded an
opportunity to examine and dispute any reports received in evidence.

Detention Decision-making Criteria

Whether the detention decision is being made by an intake officer as a preliminary matter, or
by a judge or master at a subsequent informal detention hearing, the basic criteria for
decision-making are the same. JCJC detention standards require that detention decision-
making procedures feature all of the following:

B Jurisdictional findings. An intake decision-maker may not authorize detention
without finding a “reasonable basis to believe that the child has committed the act for
which he is being detained” and “that he is not excluded from the jurisdiction of
Juvenile Court by age or any other reason.”” Likewise, a juvenile court judge or
master presiding at a detention hearing may not order an alleged delinquent detained
without a formal finding that the allegations are supported by probable cause and within
the juvenile court’s jurisdiction.”® In some counties, probable cause findings are made
on the basis of police reports, while in others the direct testimony of arresting officers is
required.

B Fligibility findings. The detention decision-maker—whether a probation officer
making a detention intake decision or a judge or master presiding at an detention
hearing—must apply the minimum eligibility criteria in the JCJC detention standards to
determine whether the case meets the thresholds for detention specified there.

B Priority consideration for non-secure alternatives. Even if the juvenile is eligible
for secure detention under the standards, the decision-maker must consider and give
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preference to available “non-secure alternatives which could reduce the risk of flight or
danger to the child or community.”*

B Documentation of basis for decisions. Finally, all detention decisions must be
accompanied by “a contemporaneous written statement of facts and reasons” that
covers jurisdictional findings, eligibility for detention, detention alternatives that were
considered and rejected, and “the reason or reasons why secure detention is required
and alternatives are not appropriate.”?’

As is more fully explained in Ch. 3, above, under certain conditions, federal Title IV-E
program funds are available to cover costs associated with maintaining delinquent juveniles in
qualifying out-of-home placements, so long as—in the first judicial order sanctioning the
Jjuvenile's removal from the home—the court formally determined that it would be “contrary
to the welfare” of the juvenile to leave him at home, and that the failure to provide services to
enable the juvenile to remain at home (as would ordinarily be done in a child abuse or neglect
case) “was reasonable due to the emergency nature of the situation, safety considerations,
and circumstances of the family.” This is true even though IV-E funds cannot be used to
offset the cost of secure detention itself—the failure to make the required findings in the
detention order is a kind of “irreversible error” that cannot be corrected after the fact.
Accordingly, whenever a judge or master determines that a juvenile must be detained

following an informal hearing, the secure detention order should contain formal findings to this
effect.”®

§ 5-4 Detention Facilities

Every juvenile court judge should be familiar with the detention facility used to house juveniles
locally, including its capacity and utilization, its average length of stay, the quality and range of
educational, medical, assessment and other services available, and the overall conditions that
prevail there.

In general, the Juvenile Act authorizes the secure detention of juveniles only in facilities
approved for that purpose by the Department of Public Welfare.”? Such facilities—there are
currently 22 statewide, almost all county-operated, ranging in size from 8 to 130 beds—are
subject to state regulations setting minimum standards of care, security, and services.

In addition, except for very brief periods of

Juvenile court judges should temporary detention in police lock-ups for the

be thoroughly familiar with purpose of identification, investigation, processing,
the problems and possibilities transfer or release of juveniles just taken into

of local juvenile detention custody,’ the Juvenile Act specifically prohibits
centers. (1) detaining any juvenile in a jail or other facility

with adults, unless he has been charged with or

convicted of an offense (other than a summary
offense) that is excluded from juvenile court jurisdiction, or transferred there following a
waiver of juvenile court jurisdiction; (2) placing a juvenile in any facility where he “is apt to be
abused by other children”; and (3) placing a juvenile who is merely alleged to be dependent in
a secure detention facility for delinquents.?!



§ 5-5

Finally, judges should be aware that the federal Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
Act of 1974 imposes certain secure custody restrictions on states, including Pennsylvania,
that participate in federal formula grant programs. Among others, these include prohibitions
on holding mere status offenders in secure detention or correctional facilities and on detaining
juveniles with incarcerated adults.*

§ 5-5 Alternatives to Secure Detention

The preamble to the JCJC Standards Governing the Use of Secure Detention Under the
Juvenile Act declares that “decisions regarding admissions to secure detention facilities must
be based on a commitment to utilize the most appropriate level of care consistent with the
circumstances of the individual case. When the admission of a child to a secure detention
facility is being considered by a judge, master, or juvenile probation officer, preference should
be given to non-secure alternatives which could reduce the risk of flight or danger to the child
or community.”

Available alternatives to secure detention will vary from community to community. Judges
and other detention decision-makers should be able to choose from a range of custody and
supervision options, each calibrated to a different level of risk, and all designed to safeguard
the community and/or ensure the juvenile’s
appearance at subsequent hearings without resort
to detention in a locked facility. But jurisdictions
with a wide range of detention alternative options
should resist the temptation to “widen the net” of
social control unnecessarily, so as to catch up
juveniles who can safely be released pending
hearings.

Judges should work to expand
the range of useful alternatives
to detention.

Detention alternatives should include options along the following continuum:

B Unconditional release to parents/guardians. The option of entrusting the juvenile to
the care and supervision of his family is clearly preferred by the Juvenile Act as a
general rule, and should always be considered first.

B Home detention/monitoring/supervision programs. This set of alternative programs
allows juveniles to live at home and work or attend school while awaiting hearings, but
subject to intensive face-to-face supervision, curfews and other restrictions, and
sometimes special conditions such as electronic monitoring. Unannounced visits and
random telephone calls may be used to check compliance with program conditions.
The intensity of supervision and levels of restriction can be adjusted in response to the
youth’s record of compliance. Under the JCJC Advisory Standards Governing the Use
of Alternatives to Secure Detention, in-home detention pending adjudication may not
last longer than 30 days. Juveniles placed on in-home detention status must be notified
of'their right to counsel and provided with written in-home detention conditions within
24 hours. Unless electronic monitoring is used to ensure compliance, the probation
officer in an in-home detention case is required to have daily contact with the juvenile
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or his custodian, and a minimum of one personal contact with the juvenile every 48
hours until the adjudication hearing. The standards also provide that in-home detention
cases are entitled to scheduling priority over cases in which juveniles have been
released pending hearings.

B Day/evening reporting centers. For juveniles who need more oversight than a home
detention program can provide, or who have already failed in home detention, reporting
centers can provide safe, structured, staff-supervised activities on a daily basis—
typically during high-crime after-school and evening hours. Although this sort of
program typically costs more to operate, a bonus is that it is capable of providing
services (tutoring, counseling, vocational training, etc.) to juveniles that need them.

B Shelter care, foster care, other licensed facilities. In appropriate cases, other
alternatives to detention might include placement with relatives or in facilities designed
primarily for dependent children. In some areas, specialized foster care in a single-
family setting is available for troubled juveniles. And staff-secure residential facilities
provide 24-hour supervision—and often structured activity and services, as in a
reporting center—in a group-home setting that is more wholesome than that of a
secure detention center.

B Alternative sanctioning programs for probation violators. Crowding in juvenile
detention centers is often exacerbated by the presence of large numbers of juveniles
who are not awaiting hearings or placements but being sanctioned for probation
violations. While the use of detention as a short-term sanction in such cases may not
be precluded by law, it is not the best use of limited detention space. Accordingly, some
Pennsylvania counties have developed alternative means of sanctioning such youths,
reserving detention beds for those who really need them. For instance, one county
program houses probation violators in a weekend residential camp, where they are
required to perform community service.

Judges should not passively accept the existing range of alternatives to detention. The JCJC
Advisory Standards Governing the Use of Alternatives to Secure Detention require a juvenile
court’s administrative judge to “determine whether alternatives to secure detention are
available to the county to meet the needs of children referred to the Court.” If such
alternatives are lacking or inadequate—in other words, if local youths are being securely
detained unnecessarily, solely because less restrictive means are unavailable—juvenile court
judges have a responsibility to work with the community to develop programs and services to
meet the need. This may involve taking measures to ensure that the Department of Public
Welfare meets its statutory responsibility to develop “in each county” programs to provide
shelter care for alleged or adjudicated delinquents taken into custody.*

§ 5-6 Detention to Protect the Community

In cases in which secure detention is being considered “to protect the person or property of
others,”* JCJC Standards Governing the Use of Secure Detention Under the Juvenile Act
impose a minimum offense/offense history threshold that must be met.’¢ In other words, in
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order to reach the issue of whether detention is necessary to protect persons or property, the
decision-maker must first determine that the alleged offense—or the offense in combination
with the juvenile’s past history—qualifies the

case for public safety detention consideration.

The purpose of setting an eligibility threshold for JCJC standards set a strict
detention is not to make detention automatic for eligibility threshold for

cases that meet the threshold, but to eliminate the detention sought on public
possibility of secure detention—at least on safety grounds.

community safety grounds—for cases that do

not.

Violent Offenses

Detention to protect the persons or property of others may be authorized, first, in cases in
which the juvenile is alleged to have committed any one of a long list of serious offenses:*’

— Murder, voluntary manslaughter, or involuntary manslaughter

— Rape

— Robbery

— Robbery of a motor vehicle

— Aggravated assault

— Statutory sexual assault

— Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse

— Sexual assault

— Aggravated indecent assault

— Kidnapping

— Arson

— Burglary of a structure that is actually occupied or adapted for overnight

accommodation

— Terroristic threats

— Stalking

— Causing or risking catastrophe

— Riot

— Drug felonies

— Felonious intimidation of or retaliation against victims or witnesses

— Any offense involving the use or possession of a firearm, explosive, or other

deadly weapon

Other Offenses

Public safety detention may also be authorized in cases involving juveniles charged with less
serious offenses, if they have certain kinds of court involvement histories:

B Repeat offenders. A juvenile who is alleged to have committed a felony that is not
enumerated above may nevertheless be detained if he (1) is currently on probation,
being supervised under a consent decree, or is otherwise under court supervision
following a delinquency adjudication or (2) has been adjudicated delinquent some time
in the preceding 18 months.*
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Violators of alternative conditions. A juvenile who is in violation of conditions
imposed as an alternative to secure detention (including house arrest, in-home
detention, electronic monitoring, or a shelter care placement) may be detained
regardless of the nature of the offense charged.®

Probation violators. A juvenile who is on probation or other court supervision
following a delinquency adjudication based on a felony may be detained if alleged to
have committed (1) any delinquent act or (2) two technical violations of the conditions
of his probation or other supervision.** (However, it should be noted that, as the
detention standards make clear elsewhere, “preadjudication detention may never be
imposed as a means of punishment or to apply sanctions.”)*!

Again, the above criteria merely indicate which cases are eligible for detention. JCJC
detention standards provide that non-secure alternatives to detention must still be considered
in detention-eligible cases, and wherever possible “preference should be given to non-secure
alternatives which could reduce the risk of flight or danger to the child or community.”*

§ 5-7 Detention to Ensure Attendance at Hearings

In a case in which secure detention is being considered on the ground that “the child may
abscond or be removed from the jurisdiction of the court,” JCJC detention standards require
a showing that the juvenile actually is an absconder or fugitive, has a documented history of

absconding or failing to appear for hearings, or
else presents extraordinary circumstances that

A juvenile detained to ensure make absconding likely.*

attendance at hearings must

generally have a documented Specifically, in order to qualify for secure

history of absconding. detention to ensure attendance at hearings, a
juvenile must:

B Willfully fail to appear for adjudication. Willful failure to respond to a summons or

court order to appear at the adjudication hearing in the current case will authorize
detention.*

Have a record of failing to appear at previous juvenile court hearings. A “recent
demonstrable record” of willful failure to appear at hearings in other cases will also
authorize detention.*

Be an absconder or have absconded previously. A juvenile may be detained if he is
currently an absconder from a placement to which he was committed following an
adjudication of delinquency, or if he has in the past absconded from secure detention or
a non-secure alternative to detention while awaiting a hearing or placement.*’

Be a fugitive from another jurisdiction. A verified fugitive may be detained
following a request from an official of the jurisdiction seeking his return.*®
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B Present extraordinary circumstances. Extraordinary circumstances that could
otherwise authorize detention to prevent absconding “may include, but are not limited
to, the child’s age, character, mental condition, ties to the community, the nature of the
child’s family relationships, drug or alcohol addiction or substance abuse.”

§ 5-8 Extraordinary and Exceptional Circumstances
Justifying Detention

JCJC detention standards allow for the possibility that secure detention that is not otherwise
specifically authorized may be justified under “extraordinary and exceptional
circumstances.”’ The statement of reasons justifying such detention “must include an
explanation of why an exception was warranted
and why non-secure options were rejected.”

Secure detention that is not

While the standards do not indicate what these otherwise authorized by JCJC
circumstances might be, they do mention two detention standards is
commonly encountered situations that do not permissible only in exceptional
qualify as extraordinary and exceptional cases.

circumstances authorizing detention:

B Lack of non-secure alternatives. The status quo cannot be considered “extraordinary
and exceptional.” A jurisdiction that simply lacks an adequate continuum of alternatives
to secure detention cannot detain juveniles routinely under this exception.’!

B No parent or other responsible guardian. Likewise, the detention standards make it
clear that secure detention cannot be authorized solely on the ground that there is no
parent or other adult guardian to take responsibility for the juvenile. In such a case,
only shelter care or other non-secure temporary placements may be considered.>

§ 5-9 Post-Adjudication Detention

Once a juvenile has been found to have in fact committed delinquent acts, and is awaiting
disposition, placement, or post-disposition review, JCJC detention standards give juvenile court
judges somewhat more flexibility to detain, as long as secure detention is actually necessary
rather than merely convenient.

Judges have somewhat more
flexibility to detain juveniles
who have already been found
to have committed the offenses
alleged.

A juvenile who has been adjudicated but is still
awaiting disposition,” or one who has been
ordered into placement but is awaiting an
opening,* may be detained in the meantime if one
of'the following applies:

B Offense eligible for public safety detention. If the offense substantiated at the
adjudication hearing was one that would have met the threshold for pre-hearing
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detention on public safety grounds—even if the juvenile was not in fact detained—post-
hearing detention is authorized.>

B Risk of flight. 1f the juvenile was or could have been detained to ensure attendance
prior to adjudication, or would have been considered eligible in light of more recent
information, post-hearing detention is authorized if the court determines it is
necessary.>

B Other factors. If placement outside the home has already been ordered or will likely
be a part of the disposition, detention may be authorized if the court finds it necessary
after considering factors bearing on the strength of the juvenile’s ties to the community
and the likelihood that he will flee the jurisdiction, including but not limited to:

— The nature of the offense substantiated

— Job/school status

— Family relationships

— Past and present residences

— Age, character, mental condition, previous record, and drug or alcohol addiction
or abuse

— Whether the juvenile has previously appeared for court proceedings as
required.®’

In addition, any juvenile who has already been ordered into a secure residential program may
be detained while awaiting placement.*®

Standards governing detention before and after disposition review hearings prohibit detention
except where the juvenile:

B [s already in, or awaiting transfer to, a secure residential placement;
B Has been returned from placement for failure to adjust; or

B Otherwise qualifies for detention on the basis of a consideration of the above
enumerated factors bearing on his ties to the community and flight risk.*

When a juvenile has been newly placed in detention following a probation violation or a failure
to adjust in a non-secure placement, an informal detention hearing is required within 72 hours;
see the discussion under “Duration of Detention,” § 5-10.

§ 5-10 Duration of Detention

The Juvenile Act, the Rules of Juvenile Court Procedure for Delinquency Matters and the
JCJC Standards Governing Hearings and Administrative Reviews for Children Held in Secure
Detention impose absolute durational limits on pre-adjudication detention of juveniles, as well
as strict hearing timetables in all cases involving pre- or post-adjudication detention.
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Pre-Adjudication Detention

Under the Juvenile Act, accused delinquents held in detention must either be formally
adjudicated or released within a relatively short time.® As has already been described, the
filing of a formal petition in the case of a detained juvenile must occur “within 24 hours or the
next court business day” following the detention

hearing.! The adjudication hearing must then be

held (or notice of request for transfer submitted—  Secure detention of juveniles is
see below) within ten days of the filing of the a kind of emergency measure
petition, or else the juvenile must be released from  that is allowed only for brief
detention.®? There are only two exceptions to this ~ periods.

adjudicate-or-release rule:

B Additional detention to procure temporarily unavailable evidence. A juvenile may
be held in detention beyond the usual deadline if the court finds that material evidence
is currently unavailable despite the exercise of due diligence to obtain it, but that there
are reasonable grounds to believe the evidence will become available “at a later
date.”® In such a case, the court may authorize “a single period not to exceed ten
days” of additional detention pending the delayed adjudication hearing, but only if it
finds by clear and convincing evidence that release would otherwise expose the
community to “a specific danger,” endanger the life of the juvenile himself, or result in
his absconding or being removed from the court’s jurisdiction.®

B Additional detention necessitated by juvenile’s own delay. A juvenile’s detention
may also be continued beyond the usual ten-day limit if a scheduled adjudication
hearing is delayed at the request or by the conduct of the juvenile or his attorney.®
This exception applies if the adjudication hearing (1) is continued at the request of the
juvenile or his attorney, (2) must be postponed due to the unavailability of the juvenile or
his attorney, or (3) cannot be held because “conduct by or on behalf of” the juvenile
has caused a witness to become unavailable. In such a case, the court must state on
the record that the scheduled adjudication hearing is not being held due to the juvenile,
and authorize continued detention for an additional period not to exceed ten days;
thereafter the detention “may be continued by the court for successive ten-day
intervals” for as long as the juvenile continues to delay the adjudication.

Detention in Transfer Cases

A special rule allows somewhat longer periods of detention in cases involving requests for
transfer to criminal proceedings.®® Because preparing for a transfer hearing can be a
complicated undertaking, it was thought that the attorney for the Commonwealth should be
given more time to consult with the juvenile probation officer and others regarding the
proposed step.®” Accordingly, the Rules of Juvenile Court Procedure for Delinquency
Matters provide that while the juvenile may be detained initially for up to ten days, the
attorney for the Commonwealth has until the tenth day to file a notice of intent to transfer the
case. In effect, the filing of this notice “resets” the ten-day clock. After the filing of the
notice, the juvenile will ordinarily be entitled to a transfer hearing within the next ten days.
Again, however, a single period of extended detention of up to ten days is allowed to procure
temporarily unavailable evidence (including a psychological or psychiatric evaluation),
meaning that a total of 30 days of detention may be permissible before the transfer hearing.
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(In addition, successive ten-day extensions are allowed when the hearing delay has been
caused by the juvenile.)

Detention Pending Disposition

The Juvenile Act requires that a disposition hearing for a detained juvenile be held no more
than 20 days after the finding that that the juvenile committed the delinquent acts alleged, and
specifies that this deadline may only be extended by agreement of the parties; however, it
also provides that “failure to comply with the time limitations...shall not be grounds for
discharging the child or dismissing the proceeding.”®® Under the Rules of Juvenile Court
Procedure for Delinquency Matters, the dispositional hearing may be continued repeatedly,
but each continuance must be for no more than 20 days.® Following a continuance, the court
should review the juvenile’s case every 20 days until there is a final disposition order.”

Detention Pending Placement

Neither the Juvenile Act nor the Rules of Juvenile Court Procedure for Delinquency Matters
impose explicit limits on the amount of time a juvenile may be held in detention while awaiting
a court-ordered placement. As a matter of fact, many of the beds in a typical secure
detention facility are filled by adjudicated juveniles waiting—often for long periods—for
placement beds to become available. However, JCJC Standards Governing Hearings and
Administrative Reviews for Children Held in Secure Detention require frequent reviews of
such pre-placement detention, including court hearings every 30 days and administrative
reviews at ten-day intervals in between (that is, on the 10" and 20" day following the most
recent court proceeding), until the juvenile is finally placed or released.”” Hearings should
“review the status of the case and determine the need for continued secure detention.”
Administrative reviews of the case of a juvenile in pre-placement detention may be
conducted by the court or a designee, without the juvenile in attendance, on the basis of
information provided by the chief juvenile probation officer, and are intended “to minimize
delays in the release or transfer of a child by helping to ensure that individuals are carrying
out their respective responsibilities related to the child’s case.”” Reviews should focus
broadly on “why the child is being held in secure detention, whether secure detention services
or an alternative thereto continue to be required, and what must occur to enable the child to
be released or transferred to another facility.”” Documentation of each review should
include an anticipated release or transfer date, the scheduled date of the next hearing or
review, and any action that is to be taken in the meantime.

Detention in Connection with Disposition Modification or Probation Revocation

A juvenile may also be detained in connection with the filing (or anticipated filing within 24
hours) of a motion for modification of a dispositional order, or the filing of a motion alleging a
violation of probation.” In such a case, a detention hearing must be held within 72 hours, and
a hearing on the proposed disposition modification or probation revocation must be held within
ten days, unless one of the standard exceptions applies (i.e. an extension of up to ten days to
procure temporarily unavailable evidence or additional ten-day extensions for delays caused
by the juvenile).”
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